2019 Picture Books: Women Biographies

You all said you liked posts where I showcase new picture books based on a theme so I’m making this a huge series! Seriously. There will be about 15 more of these.

I’m kicking the whole thing off with a list perfect for International Women’s Day. Check out these 2019 picture books featuring fierce girls and women. Get your collection development budget ready, friends, because you’re going to want them all.

Here are the other posts in my 2019 Picture Book series (links will be added as as each post goes live):

Meet the first female chief of the Cherokee Nation.
A must have for all libraries!
One of the few I could find featuring an Asian woman.
Of particular interest to my American friends.
This one is only based on a true story but it fills a gap in stories about Hawaiian women.
Hamilton fans rejoice!
Meet the lady who flew.
Glamorous movie star and brilliant inventor all in one!
Travel through the alphabet to meet Broadway’s leading ladies.
Meet the English surrealist artist Leonora Carrington
I imagine this story will particularly well loved on the East Coast.
Apparently Emily is having a year!
I am loving the focus on contemporary women this year.
The illustrations are giving me Disney flashbacks in the best way.
Learn about one of the first entomologists and scientific illustrators .
What’s that? TWO books about famous entomologists?!
Good to see Ada still getting lots of picture book love.
Meet the first woman to run the Boston Marathon.
They’ve been getting a lot of book love lately!
Told you so.
How one girl proved that girls can ride bikes too. (duh?)
An animal rights activist story.
This cover is absolutely gorgeous!
Discover tons of female athletes who broke barriers.
For dinosaur lovers everywhere.
From French orphan to style icon.
Inspired by Mary Edwards Walker, a 19th-century doctor who was arrested many times for wearing pants.
A heroic escape from slavery from a very brave woman.
There are so many women I’ve never heard of. This is one of them.
The story of the first African American prima ballerina in the Metropolitan Opera,.
Part of a series!
Billie Jean is also having a year.
A unique artist from the 1950s.
Discover how Betty Snyder, Jean Jennings, and Kay McNulty used a computer to aid in WWII.
Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures.
Two Katherine Johnson books this year!
Learn about the first first female member of the Royal Geographic Society.
A touching story about a conservationist and her rhino friend.
Add this to your Malala collection.
I don’t think I’ve ever seen Frida as a child on the cover before.
This is another woman I’ve never heard of!
I am loving all these books featuring women in science.
I wish this would have taken off!
A dynamic author + illustrator duo. A must buy.
Meet Maria Mitchell, America’s first professional astronomer.
Learn about famous women from different countries and time periods.
You get a book! You get a book! You get a book!

Which ones are you looking forward to reading? Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “2019 Picture Books: Women Biographies

    1. I’ll have to check it out! This post only covers books published in 2019, but I know there are so many other great ones out there.

    1. Right!? It’s also kinda sad that I was never taught about these women growing up. Hopefully the plethora of new books will change that for the future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.